Officers of the Association

Duties of MPSA Officers

President. The president serves a one-year term. S/he chairs all MPSA Council meetings and appoints ad hoc committee members as needed.
President-Elect. The president-elect serves a one-year term before assuming the presidency. S/he nominates all the members of the standing committees by February.
Immediate Past President. The immediate past president serves a one-year term following their term as president. S/he or is a voting member of the MPSA Council.
Editor(s). This appointed position serves from three to four years. The editor(s) appoints the AJPS Editorial Board, which is approved by the MPSA Council. The editor(s) oversees the American Journal of Political Science (AJPS).

Vice Presidents. Vice presidents are voting members of the MPSA Council and serve on the Finance Committee (formerly the Investment Committee). The senior vice president chairs MPSA Council meetings if the president is unable to do so.

Current MPSA Officers

President: Sarah Binder, George Washington University (2019-2020)

President - Elect: Diana Mutz, University of Pennsylvania (2019-2020); President (2020-2021)

Immediate Past President: Elisabeth Gerber, University of Michigan (2019-2020)

Treasurer: Kyle Saunders, Colorado State University

2020 Conference Program Chairs: 

Jessica Weeks, University of Wisconsin - Madison

Eleanor Powell, University of Wisconsin - Madison

AJPS Co- Editors (2019- 2023):

Kathleen Dolan, University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee
Jennifer L. Lawless, University of Virginia

Executive Director: William D. Morgan, MPSA

Vice Presidents: 

John Ishiyama, University of North Texas (2017 - 2020)
Irfan Nooruddin, Georgetown University (2018 - 2021)
Christina Wolbrecht, University of Notre Dame (2019-2022)

Council Members (2017 - 2020):

Katherine Cramer, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Michelle Dion, McMaster University
Jennifer Jerit, Stonybrook University
Eric Gonzalez Juenke, Michigan State University
Kathy L. Powers, The University of New Mexico

Council Members (2018 - 2021):

Gretchen Casper, Penn State University
Betina Cutaia Wilkinson, Wake Forest University
Andra Gillespie, Emory University
Joel Simmons, Georgetown University

Council Members (2019- 2022): 

Mala Htun, University of New Mexico 
Jessica Trounstine, University of California Merced 
Elizabeth Zechmeister, Vanderbilt University 
Peter Bjerre Mortensen, Aarhus University 
Graeme Auld, Carleton University

Previous MPSA Officers

Past Presidents, Vice Presidents, Executive Councils and Executive Directors