Award Recipients - 2011

MPSA Award Recipients - 2011

The MPSA sponsors many awards for outstanding research presented at the MPSA Conference and one award for the best article published in each volume of the American Journal of Political Science (AJPS). Nominations are made by conference chairs, discussants, and section heads after the conference. Award committees select the winning papers. Awards are announced at the MPSA business meeting during the conference the following year.

The following awards will be presented at the 2011 conference for research presented at the 2010 conference:

AJPS Best Article Award

A $1,000 award, sponsored by Wiley Blackwell Publishing, for the best article appearing in the volume of the American Journal of Political Science preceding the conference.

Winners: Torun Dewan, London School of Economics and Political Science, and David P. Myatt, University of Oxford

Title: "The Declining Talent Pool of Government" Volume 54, Issue 2, pp. 267-286, April 2010

 Award Committee: Raymond Duch, Nuffield College, University of Oxford (Chair); Evelyne Huber, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; Andy Whitford, University of Georgia


Best Paper by an Emerging Scholar Award

A $250 award for the best paper, regardless of field or topic, authored by a scholar or scholars who have received their terminal degree(s) within six years of the year of the meeting at which the paper was delivered. 

Winner: Elizabeth Albright, Loyola University Chicago

Title: "Policy Change and Policy Learning in a New Democracy: Response to Extreme Floods in Hungary"

Award Committee: Hal G. Rainey, University of Georgia (Chair); Peter C. John, University of Manchester; Michael MacKuen, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill


Best Paper in International Relations

A $250 award for the best paper in international relations.

Winners: Daniel Corstange, University of Maryland, and Nikolay Marinov, Yale University

Title: "Partisan Polarization When Foreigners Intervene in Elections: Evidence from a Survey Experiment in Lebanon"

Award Committee: Richard Herrmann, The Ohio State University (Chair); Terrence Chapman, University of Texas, Austin; Terry D. Clark, Creighton University


Best Poster Award

A $250 award for the best poster presentation. 

Winners: Alexander C. Tan, University of Canterbury; Nehemia Geva, Texas A&M University; and Belinda Bragg, Texas A&M University

Title: "To Join or Not To Join: An Experimental Study of Small Parties in Coalition Formation"

Award Committee: Heather A. Larsen-Price, University of Memphis (Chair); Frank R. Baumgartner, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; Jeffrey S. Peake, Bowling Green State University


Best Undergraduate Poster Award

A $250 award for the best poster presented by an undergraduate.

Winner: Jonathan Backer, Columbia University

Title: "Clean Money and Quality Challengers: The Impact of State Legislative Public Financing on Incumbency Advantage"

 Award Committee: Fred Slocum, Minnesota State University, Mankato (Chair); Ashley E. Jochim, University of Washington; Christopher Larimer, University of Northern Iowa


Hebert A. Simon Award

A $500 award for a scholar who has made a significant contribution to the scientific study of bureaucracy. Submissions are handled by the Midwest Caucus on Policy Administration. 

Winner: Dan Carpenter

Award Committee: Midwest Caucus for Public Administration

Kellogg/Notre Dame Award

A $250 award for the best paper in comparative politics.

Winner: Christian Houle, University of Rochester

Title: "Inequality, Economic Development, and Democratization"

Award Committee: Melanie Manion, University of Wisconsin, Madison (Chair); Leslie Anderson, University of Florida; Cynthia Horne, Western Washington University


Lucius Barker Award

A $250 award for the author or authors of the best paper on a topic investigating race or ethnicity and politics and honoring the spirit and work of Professor Barker.

Winners: Corrine M. McConnaughy, Ohio State University; Ismail K. White, Ohio State University; and Chryl Laird, Ohio State University

Title: "Racial Politics Complicated: The Work of Gendered Race Cues in American Politics"


Shanna Pearson-Merkowitz, University of Rhode Island

Title: "Beyond Democracy's Reach: Latino Segregation and Political Participation"

Award Committee: Mark Q. Sawyer, University of California, Los Angeles (Chair); David L. Leal, University of Texas at Austin; Naomi Murakawa, University of Washington


Patrick J. Fett Award

A $250 award for the best paper on the scientific study of Congress and the Presidency.

Winner: Brandon Rottinghaus, University of Houston

Title: "The Role of Active Opinion in Presidential Responsiveness to Public Opinion"

Award Committee: John Wilkerson, University of Washington (Chair); Richard Fleisher, Fordam University; Tim J. Groseclose, University of California, Los Angeles


Pi Sigma Alpha Award

A $250 award for the best paper delivered at the conference.

Winners: Jeffrey R. Lax, Columbia University, and Justin H. Phillips, Columbia University

Title: "Democratic Performance in the States"

Award Committee: Christopher Wlezien, Temple University (Chair); Matt A. Barreto, University of Washington; William G. Howell, University of Chicago


Review of Politics Award

A $250 award for the best paper in normative political theory.

Winner: William B. Parsons, Carroll College

Title: "Chapter 19 of The Prince: Crime, Christianity, and the Challenge of Moral Flexibility"

Award Committee: Lorraine Pangle, University of Texas, Austin (Chair); Robert Grafstein, University of Georgia; Mika LaVaque-Manty, University of Michigan


Robert H. Durr Award

A $250 award for the best paper applying quantitative methods to a substantive problem in political science.

Winners: Rachel V. Cobb, Suffolk University; D. James Greiner, Harvard Law School; and Kevin M. Quinn, University of California Berkeley School of Law

Title: "Can Voter ID Laws Be Administered in a Race-Neutral Manner? Evidence from the City of Boston in 2008"

Award Committee: Marco Robert Steenbergen, University of Bern (Chair); Patrick Brandt, University of Texas, Dallas; J. Kevin Corder, Western Michigan University


Sophonisba Breckinridge Award

A $250 award for the best paper delivered on the topic of women and politics.

Winner: Lana Obradovic, East Asia International College, Yonsei University

Title: "Being All She Can Be: Gender Integration in NATO Military Forces"

Award Committee: Christina Wolbrecht, University of Notre Dame (Chair); Amy G. Mazur, Washington State University; Kathryn L. Pearson, University of Minnesota


Westview Press Award

A $250 award for the best paper delivered by a graduate student.

Winner: John Hudak, Vanderbilt University

Title: "The Politics of Federal Grants: Presidential Influence Over the Distribution of Federal Funds"

Award Committee: Beth Leech, Rutgers University (Chair); Benjamin B. Smith, University of Florida; Ishmail White, The Ohio State University