Award Recipients - 2012

MPSA Award Recipients - 2012

The MPSA sponsors many awards for outstanding research presented at the MPSA Conference and one award for the best article published in each volume of the American Journal of Political Science (AJPS). Nominations are made by conference chairs, discussants, and section heads after the conference. Award committees select the winning papers. Awards are announced at the MPSA business meeting during the conference the following year.

The following awards were presented at the 2012 conference for research presented at the 2011 conference:

AJPS Best Article Award

A $1,000 award, sponsored by Wiley Blackwell Publishing, for the best article appearing in the volume of the American Journal of Political Science preceding the conference.

Winners: James Adams, University of California, Davis, Lawrence Ezrow, University of Essex, and Zeynep Somer-Topcu, Vanderbilt University

Title: "Is Anybody Listening? Evidence That Voters Do Not Respond to European Parties' Policy Statements During Elections" Volume 55, Issue 2, pp. 370-382

 Award Committee: James Fowler, University of California, San Diego, Chair; Brandon Bartels, George Washington University; and Kyle Joyce, University of California, Davis


Best Paper by an Emerging Scholar Award.

A $250 award for the best paper, regardless of field or topic, authored by a scholar or scholars who have received their terminal degree(s) within six years of the year of the meeting at which the paper was delivered.

Winners: Christopher Ellis, Bucknell University, and Patrick C. Wohlfarth, Washington University in St. Louis

 Title: “Political Context and Regulatory Decision Making: The Impact of Public Opinion on Decentralized Policy Enforcement"

 Award Committee: Chris Wlezien, Temple University, Chair; Jacqueline DeMeritt, University of North Texas; Vera Troeger, University of Essex


Best Paper in International Relations.

A $250 award for the best paper in international relations.

Winners: Jennifer L. Merolla, Claremont Graduate University, J. Daniel Montalvo, Vanderbilt University, and Elizabeth J. Zechmeister, Vanderbilt University

Title: “Terrorism and Democracy in Latin America and the Caribbean?”

Award Committee: David Bearce, University of Colorado, Chair; Sara Croco, University of Maryland; Megan Shannon, University of Mississippi


Best Poster Award.

A $250 award for the best poster presentation.

Winner: Marius Radean, Florida State University

Title: “The Conditional Effect of Cabinet Membership on Party Switching”

Award Committee: Sona Golder, Pennsylvania State University, Chair; Kentaro Fukumoto, Gakushuin University; Paul Herrnson, University of Maryland; Kris Miler, University of Illinois


Best Undergraduate Poster Award.

A $250 award for the best poster presented by an undergraduate.

Winner: Casey S. Crisman-Cox, Pennsylvania State University

Title: “Terrorism, Democracies, and Partisanship: Interactions between Governments and Intrastate Terrorist Groups”

Award Committee: Steve Frantzich, U.S. Naval Academy, Chair; George Marcus, Williams College; Grant Neeley, University of Dayton


Herbert A. Simon Award.

A $500 award for a scholar who has made a significant contribution to the scientific study of bureaucracy. Submissions are handled by the Midwest Caucus on Policy Administration. 

Winner: George Krause

Award Committee: Midwest Caucus for Public Administration

Kellogg/Notre Dame Award.

A $250 award for the best paper in comparative politics.

Winner: Christian Houle, Trinity College, Dublin

Title: “Consolidating Democracy in Plural Societies: Ethnic Inequality in Sub-Saharan Africa”

Award Committee: Mikki Kittilson, Arizona State University, Chair; Michelle Dion, McMaster University; Ray Duch, University of Oxford


Lucius Barker Award.

A $250 award for the author or authors of the best paper on a topic investigating race or ethnicity and politics and honoring the spirit and work of Professor Barker.

 Winner: Efrén O. Pérez, Vanderbilt University

 Title: “Black Ice? Race and the Political Psychology of Implicit Bias”

 Award Committee: Matt Barreto, University of Washington, Chair; Rodolfo Espino, Arizona State University; Ismail White, The Ohio State University



Patrick J. Fett Award.

A $250 award for the best paper on the scientific study of Congress and the Presidency.

Winners: Samuel Kernell, University of California, San Diego, and Scott A. MacKenzie, University of California, Davis

Title: “From Political Careers to Career Politicians”

Award Committee: Shawn Trier, University of Minnesota, Chair; Scott Meinke, Bucknell University; Jennifer Nicoll Victor, University of Pittsburgh


Pi Sigma Alpha Award.

A $250 award for the best paper delivered at the conference.

Winners: Nicholas Charron, University of Gothenburg, and Victor Lapuente, University of Gothenburg

Title: “Why Do Some Regions in Europe Have Higher Quality of Government?”

Award Committee: John Scholz, Florida State University, Chair; Jason Mycoff, University of Delaware; Corwin Smidt, Michigan State University


Review of Politics Award.

A $250 award for the best paper in normative political theory.

 Winner: J. S. Maloy, Oklahoma State University

 Title: “Ancient and Medieval Antecedents of Reason of State: Skepticism and Pragmatism”

 Award Committee: Eric MacGilvray, The Ohio State University, Chair; Aurelian Craiutu, Indiana University; Lisa Ellis, Texas A&M University


Robert H. Durr Award.

A $250 award for the best paper applying quantitative methods to a substantive problem in political science.

Winners: Jens Hainmueller, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and Dominik Hangartner, University of California, Berkeley

Title: “Who Gets a Swiss Passport? A Natural Experiment in Immigrant Discrimination”

Award Committee: Fred Boehmke, University of Iowa, Chair; Dino Christenson, Boston University; Jas Sekhon, University of California, Berkeley


Sophonisba Breckinridge Award.

A $250 award for the best paper delivered on the topic of women and politics.

Winner: Melody Crowder-Meyer, The University of the South

Title: “Candidate Recruitment and Party Networks: How the Beliefs and Behavior of Local Party Leaders Affect Women’s Representation”


Winner: Sarah A. Fulton, Texas A&M University

Title: “When Gender Matters: Partisanship, Ideological Proximity and Valence”

Award Committee: Lee Ann Banaszak, Pennsylvania State University, Chair; Amber Boydstun, University of California, Davis; Kira Sanbonmatsu, Rutgers University


Westview Press Award.

A $250 award for the best paper delivered by a graduate student.

Winner: Laura Paler, Columbia University

Title: “Keeping the Public Purse: An Experiment in Windfalls, Taxes and Transparency”

Award Committee: Paul Collins, University of North Texas, Chair; Amanda Licht, University of South Carolina; Anand Sokhey, University of Colorado